Review: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

Title:  The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

Author:  Jennifer E. Smith

Publisher:  Little, Brown Books

Rating:  4.5/5

Four minutes changes everything.  Hadley Sullivan 17 misses her flight at JFK airport, is late to her father’s second wedding in London with never-met stepmother.  Hadley meets the perfect boy.  Oliver is British. sits in her row.  A long night on the plane passes in a blink. but the two lose track in arrival chaos.  Can  fate bring the together again?                                                                                                  -Goodreads Summary

So, I heard about this book while watching a video from one of my favorite booktubers, Katytastic. What spiked my interest is that she mentioned that this movie was to be turned into a film staring Robert Sheehan.  I had a major freak out.  Seriously.  I absolutely loved Robert Sheehand as Simon in the Mortal Instruments movie City of Bones.  So I thought if he was in the book to movie adaptation the book must be good.  I had to check it out.  As I had just read Anna and the French Kiss, and loved it, I thought this would be right up my alley and wow did it surpass my expectations.  I know there are many mixed reviews on this books but I really, really loved it.  Yes, it was slightly cheesy at some parts but isn’t that romance novels? And yes. it was a bit unrealistic at times, but isn’t that the point of reading?  To believe in the improbable,  To escape from your own life into another.  However,  I do feel like this will be one of the instances, like Paper Towns, where the movie is better than the book.  I don’t know though.  We’ll see.

SOME SPOILERS

How cute was the airplane ride? I was awwing the whole time.  And before that, when Oliver carried her suitcase? The fact that they found each other over and over again was just so cute.  I love how even though the book took place over the course of only 24 hours, Hadley grows so much.  She begins to realize that her situation could be a thousand times worse and that Charlotte really isn’t that bad.  She begins to accept her parent’s situation and not begrudge her father his happiness, even when it’s not with her mom.  I loved this book so much.

For all you contemporary lovers, this one’s for you.

One thought on “Review: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

Leave a Reply

