Review: Legacy of Kings

Title: Legacy of Kings
Author: Eleanor Herman
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Rating: 4.5/5

Imagine a time when the gods turn a blind eye to the agony of men, when the last of the hellions roam the plains and evil stirs beyond the edges of the map. A time when cities burn, and in their ashes, empires rise.

Alexander, Macedonia’s sixteen-year-old heir, is on the brink of discovering his fated role in conquering the known world but finds himself drawn to a newcomer…

Katerina must navigate the dark secrets of court life while hiding her own mission: kill the Queen. But she doesn’t account for her first love…

Jacob will go to unthinkable lengths to win Katerina, even if it means having to compete for her heart with Hephaestion, a murderer sheltered by the prince.

And far across the sea, Zofia, a Persian princess and Alexander’s unmet betrothed, wants to alter her destiny by seeking the famed and deadly Spirit Eaters.

Weaving fantasy with the shocking details of real history, New York Times bestselling author of Sex with Kings Eleanor Herman reimagines the greatest emperor the world has ever known, Alexander the Great, in the first book of the Blood of Gods and Royals series. 

Wow. I absolutely loved this. Seriously. I’m actually really relieved I liked this book because I was falling into a reading slump and if this book hadn’t been to my taste, I might have given up on reading entirely. Just kidding, but still.

This book was awesome and I can tell it’s gearing up to a really great fantasy series. I love the character and their different situations and the way they all relate to each other. I also enjoyed the different perspectives and the magical element.

What drew me in the most is the time and place, I was so intrigued by the idea of historical fiction/fantasy involving Alexander the Great as a teen. I also like the magical aspect of this book and the special abilities that all the characters posses–including Alexander.

I love how Eleanor depicted Alexander and his world; it was beautifully created and really visual.

SPOILERS:

I love all the characters but my favorite was Zofia. I love her bravery and the way she didn’t run away from her fears and does what she thinks is right no matter how dangerous that may be.

And poor Jacob.

I feel so bad for him. I mean he constantly feels the need to prove himself to Kat and she just rejects him every time. He never did anything bad except joining the Aesyrian Lords and maybe attempting to kill Kat (though I highly doubt it) but he did all that for Kat. I understand why she did it but she didn’t have to be so mean about it. She should have told him about her mission to kill Olympias. And what’s happening between her and Hephaestion? They better not get together. It’s not that I don’t like him, I do, I just really don’t want him with Kat. She belongs with Jacob.

The plot twist at the end.

I wasn’t expecting it, but I wasn’t surprised by it either.

I’m also interested by the fact that most of the characters’s stories lead them to the Eastern Mountains and I can’t wait to find out how they all come together.

So, a really great and enjoyable read. If you like fantasy with a bit of history (like me) you’ll love this

September 2016 here we come!

One thought on “Review: Legacy of Kings

Leave a Reply

