Review: A Madness So Discreet

Title: A Madness So Discreet

Author: Mindy McGinnis

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Rating: 2/5

She keeps it locked away, along with her voice, trapped deep inside a brilliant mind that cannot forget horrific family secrets. Those secrets, along with the bulge in her belly, land her in a Boston insane asylum.

When her voice returns in a burst of violence, Grace is banished to the dark cellars, where her mind is discovered by a visiting doctor who dabbles in the new study of criminal psychology. With her keen eyes and sharp memory, Grace will make the perfect assistant at crime scenes. Escaping from Boston to the safety of an ethical Ohio asylum, Grace finds friendship and hope, hints of a life she should have had. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who stalks young women. Grace, continuing to operate under the cloak of madness, must hunt a murderer while she confronts the demons in her own past.


Honestly, I didn’t like this book. There wasn’t a real climax and it was boring. Some parts were, of course, more interesting that others but overall, it wasn’t something I enjoyed. I was expecting more craziness and it wasn’t nearly as dark as I expected. Does that make me sound hollow? I hope not, it’s just that it wasn’t really what I though it would be. I can’t really tell the main plotline of this story. I really enjoyed the first couple chapter of the book; they were almost close to what the blurb promised. But the rest of the book did a complete 180 and turned into a mystery-thriller type thing.

SPOILERS:

I found Thornhollow a bit creepy. He knows Grace a total of maybe 30 minutes and then decides he’s willing to risk his career to get her out of the asylum. He says he did it because she had a sharp mind and could remember fine details very well. I don’t know, I just don’t trust. I’m a naturally suspicious person. And, what’s with Thornhollow’s fascination with the insane? It was hinted at a couple times but never really explained.

I did really like Elizabeth’s character. She was so strong and perseverant. For instance, when Nell died I really thought she would break down, but she didn’t. She stayed strong for Grace and that actually surprised me. In the end, I think she was my favorite character.

Overall, not a great read and took a really long time to finish.

Advertisements

Review: The Diviners

Title: The Diviners

Author: Libba Bray

Publisher: Little, Brown Books

Rating: 4.5/5

Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City—and she is pos-i-tute-ly ecstatic. It’s 1926, and New York is filled with speakeasies, Ziegfeld girls, and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is that she has to live with her uncle Will and his unhealthy obsession with the occult.

Evie worries he’ll discover her darkest secret: a supernatural power that has only brought her trouble so far. But when the police find a murdered girl branded with a cryptic symbol and Will is called to the scene, Evie realizes her gift could help catch a serial killer.

As Evie jumps headlong into a dance with a murderer, other stories unfold in the city that never sleeps. A young man named Memphis is caught between two worlds. A chorus girl named Theta is running from her past. A student named Jericho hides a shocking secret. And unknown to all, something dark and evil has awakened.


SPOILERS:

Sorry I’m starting with spoilers today, but I have to get this off my chest first:

Here goes…Evie and Jericho? I know that this is not the highest priority in the story but I need to talk about it. Am I the only one who doesn’t see that? Honestly, I really wanted her to be with Sam. I don’t know, I just liked him more. Jericho was too stoic and reserved for me. I think their relationship was rushed and I couldn’t quite get into it. For a good part of the book, Evie and Jericho barely talked and then there’s this sudden romantic tension between them. It happened around the last two chapters and it wasn’t built up at all. I didn’t like that. Sam has feelings for Evie too, so we’ll see where that goes.

Ok moving on. I started this as an audio book a couple weeks ago but then I went on a school camping trip and didn’t pick it up for another two weeks so my memory is a bit fuzzy. Nonetheless, I really enjoyed this book and the audio book was fantastic. Seriously. The narrator was really amazing and she portrayed all the characters very well.

I also enjoyed the many perspectives. It really made the story whole and added to the other characters and their development.

The first chapter (or prologue–I can’t remember) was awesome. The whole ouija board thing immediately drew me in. It’s incredibly good writing on the author’s part if I’m already freaked out by page 10.

And I know this is really weird and probably a totally unfounded accusation but, when the Irish kid was killed in the house and was chased by a tall person, I was so sure it was Jericho. I mean the description was tall and buff. Jericho is tall and buff. It’s probably John Hobbs but I can’t let go of the feeling that it was Jericho. I don’t trust him. Guess we’ll just have to see.

Also, when Thada was in the dressing room I was so sure she was going to die. I’m really happy she didn’t though.

Another thing, what’s up with Bill? I never though he was bad, I thought he was just a harmless old guy, I should’ve known better. I’m excited to see where he’s going to go.

However, it was a bit slow. For instance, there was a murder and then nothing would happen for a couple chapters and then something else would happen. Other than that, I really loved the book. Especially the setting; New York 1920s. It was written really well and I cuold feel myself in this time. I really enjoyed it.

Mini and Spoiler-Free Review: The Bane Chronicles

Title: The Bane Chronicles

Authors: Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, and Sarah Rees Brennan

Publisher: McElderry Books

Rating: 4/5

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

Originally released one-by-one as e-only short stories by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, and Sarah Rees Brennan, this compilation presents all ten together in print for the first time and includes a never-before-seen eleventh tale, as well as new illustrated material. 

Magnus is my favorite Mortal Instruments character. I love his sass and the way he talks, so having a whole book dedicated to him and his adventures was a dream come true. I loved reading about Magnus’s history and his past loves. I’m really happy with how true the book stayed to all the characters’ traits and personalities from other books. I also enjoyed watching Magnus meet all the characters and how he felt about them. I think my favorites were Vampires, Scones, and Edmund HerondaleThe Midnight Heir, and The Voice Mail of Magnus Bane.

It was a great group of short stories that really helped give insight onto Magnus and his character. If you’ve read the Infernal Devices and Mortal Instruments and love Magnus, then check this out!

October Wrap-Up

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare (a reread)

Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, and Maureen Johnson