Review: Red Rising

Title: Red Rising

Author: Pierce Brown

Publisher: Del Rey Books

Rating: 5/5!

The Earth is dying. Darrow is a Red, a miner in the interior of Mars. His mission is to extract enough precious elements to one day tame the surface of the planet and allow humans to live on it. The Reds are humanity’s last hope.

Or so it appears, until the day Darrow discovers it’s all a lie. That Mars has been habitable – and inhabited – for generations, by a class of people calling themselves the Golds. A class of people who look down on Darrow and his fellows as slave labor, to be exploited and worked to death without a second thought.

Until the day that Darrow, with the help of a mysterious group of rebels, disguises himself as a Gold and infiltrates their command school, intent on taking down his oppressors from the inside. But the command school is a battlefield – and Darrow isn’t the only student with an agenda.


 I don’t know where to begin. This book was freaking fantastic. The characters were all full and developed, the plot line was amazing and just  overall, an an read. I think this is as far as I can go without giving spoilers. All you need to know: this book is awesome and go read it.

SPOILERS:

The beginning was somewhat confusing and it was hard for me to get into but I got over that really quickly. After four or five chapters I got into the rhythm of Darrow’s world and language. After that, things picked up fast. Eo get’s hanged, and even though she only appeared for a couple of chapters in the beginning, I got really attached to her character. Seriously.

I loved the buoyancy about her and was totally devastated when she was killed. Honestly, I was in a state of denial for the next couple pages. I couldn’t believe someone important had dies so soon in the book. However, I was really happy with the pace of this book. I hate slow-paced books that take about a hundred pages to hit the first plot point.

The whole premise of this book was really intriguing; people who’ve reached out to colonize other planets. And that it’s society is divided into colors. I like the segregation of colors and how it speaks out against society today and it’s racial prejudices.

My favorite bit of Red Rising is after Darrow “dies” and he agrees to help Dancer and Harmony bring down the Society. I love the way it’s described and it really gave me a sense of going through what Darrow went through.

Darrow entering the Institute completely threw me off. I don’t know what I was expecting but it wasn’t that. It doesn’t matter, really, I loved it.

Another thing that took me by surprise was Mustang and Darrow’s alliance. I didn’t see that coming at all and when I read about it, I was immediately suspicious, sure that Mustang would back-stab him at any moment. Obviously that doesn’t make any sense since she brought him back to life but still.

I loved that this book was filled with plot twists and always managed to surprise me.

Also, the trick Darrow pulled on Jackal? Pure genius. I love Darrow’s ingenuity and I can’t wait to read Golden Son.



One thought on “Review: Red Rising

Leave a Reply

