Review: Ruby Red

Title: Ruby Red

Author: Kerstin Geir

Publisher: Henry Holt Books

Rating: 5/5

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.


I absolutely loved this book. I loved it so much. I know it’s not a contemporary but it had that contemporary feel to it. This book had me squealing at parts, mostly because of the cuteness between Gwyneth and Gideon. If you’re into time-travel with a bit of romance, this one’s for you.

SPOILERS:

I loved Gwyneth’s character and her youthful voice. She was so easy to relate to and I like that she didn’t immediately fall for Gideon’s looks and good charms. Which brings me to Gideon, whom I loved as much as Gwyneth. I didn’t even hate him in the beginning when he was being mean to Gwyneth because I knew he would change.

I know how some people said the Gideon and Gwyneth’s relationship was a bit too quick but I didn’t think so. I loved their relationship. There was only one kiss and it was at the very end and there was much build-up. I think it was executed very well.

However, what I don’t understand is Gwyneth seeing herself with Gideon in the past. That wasn’t explained in this book and I hope it’s explained in the next book.

The plot twist about Lucy actually being Gwyneth’s mom didn’t come as a surprise. I’d suspected it since the very beginning. But then, once it was made official I started worrying about Gideon. Were they related? I thought about this a lot and came to the conclusion that they’re to distantly related for it to be weird. Paul’s great-great grandfather is Gideon’s great-great-grandfather’s twin brother. So, this shouldn’t be a problem. I hope.

I’m also a bit worried about Charlotte and Gideon’s relationship. It’s clear that Charlotte still likes him but what about Gideon? I hope he doesn’t break Gwyneth’s heart.

Also, I don’t think Lucy and Paul want to destroy the chronograph. I’m pretty sure it has something to do with Count St. Germain and the Philosopher’s stone.

So, an amazing, quick-read, and I can’t wait to get to Saphire Blue.

 

One thought on “Review: Ruby Red

Leave a Reply

