Review: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

Title: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

Author: Jenny Han

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Rating: 5/5

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all. 


I think I’m on some sort of rereading binge because I’ve been rereading so many books lately. Oh well. I read this during the summer and loved it. I reread it now and loved it even more. I forgot how cute and adorable this book was. Perfect to get you out of any reading slump. If you love cutesy romance and want a nice, easy, light hearted read, I totally recommend.

SPOILERS:

I love how comical everything in this book was. Starting from Lara Jean’s letters being sent out and her hurling herself at Peter. I admit I was weary of Peter at first. I was sure he’d hurt her or go back to Genevieve. Thankfully, he didn’t. He chose Lara-Jean and that made me really happy. Peter turned out to be a really sweet guy. I didn’t like how much Lara-Jean brought up Genevieve, though. I understand that she’s afraid of her but Lara-Jean ended up just hurting herself and Peter. However, what Genevieve did on the ski trip-wasn’t okay (I don’t want to say anything else for fear of spoiling book 2 so I’m going to stop talking about Gen).

I love the way we can clearly see Peter starting to like Lara-Jean. He’ll say something nice and smile at her but then quickly add something along the lines of, ” but I don’t like you like that so don’t get your hopes up.” And every time he says it, it sounds as if he’s convincing himself.

Margot was really annoying. I didn’t like how controlling of everything she was. Thankfully, she got better in the end.

This book had me laughing out loud. I highly recommend

P.S I Still Love You is waving at me from my bookshelf… I ought to pick it up.

One thought on “Review: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

Leave a Reply

