Review: Saphire Blue

Title: Sapphire Blue

Author: Kerstin Geir

Publisher: Square Fish

Rating: 4.5/5

Gwen’s life has been a rollercoaster since she discovered she was the Ruby, the final member of the secret time-traveling Circle of Twelve. In between searching through history for the other time-travelers and asking for a bit of their blood (gross!), she’s been trying to figure out what all the mysteries and prophecies surrounding the Circle really mean.

At least Gwen has plenty of help. Her best friend Lesley follows every lead diligently on the Internet. James the ghost teaches Gwen how to fit in at an eighteenth century party. And Xemerius, the gargoyle demon who has been following Gwen since he caught her kissing Gideon in a church, offers advice on everything. Oh, yes. And of course there is Gideon, the Diamond. One minute he’s very warm indeed; the next he’s freezing cold. Gwen’s not sure what’s going on there, but she’s pretty much destined to find out.


I’m confused. Very, very confused. This book was supposed to clear, if not all things, then at least some questions from Ruby Red.  Instead, everything was turned upside down and I have so, so many questions.

I still loved this book but it wasn’t nearly as light-hearted and funny as the first book. For all you non-spoilerey folks, I’m just going to say that this book was still beautiful and amazing but much more angst-filled.

I really hope all my questions are answered in Emerald Green even though I don’t know how that’s possible since the book is about as thick as these past two. Nevertheless, I’m still extremely happy with this book and can’t wait to read the third.

SPOILERS:

I have so much to say, I don’t know where to begin.

I’ll start with issue #1: Gideon

What happened to him?! He was completely unstable in this book. One moment he’s kind and thoughtful and the next he’s stoic and rude. I want to hate him, really I do, but the epilogue killed me and I don’t know what to think. I can’t hate him, so right now, our relationship is in between love and hate. I don’t understand him. For instance, the instance in the confessionals. He kissed Gwyneth, then acted as if nothing happened and then kissed her again. Next thing you know, he’s back to being an idiot. WHY. He does this throughout the whole book and then when Count St. Germain (why isn’t he dead yet?! I hate him so much) starts talking about how it’s easiest to control women when they’re in love and Gwen starts to understand Gideon’s motives, my poor heart shriveled up and broke into a million pieces right along with hers.

Count St. Germain, you sexist mongrel. More on him later.

Ok, back to Gideon. Right, so he admits to it all being a ploy and then comes the Epilogue in which he says he actually loves her. My problem is, these books are big and written in such a way that it feels as if weeks have past, but really Gideon and Gwyneth have only known each other for seven days. Seven days?! I don’t think that’s long enough for love so… I don’t know. I feel for Gwen even though I don’t think it’s love on either part. Anyway, I know later on Gideon’s going to say that he did play her at first but then he actually fell for her. No, Gideon, that isn’t going to cut it. Not even close. He better have a very, very plausible explanation. I really, really, hope Gwyneth doesn’t immediately fall for that.

From, what I’ve gathered, Gwen is part of a huge plan in which she might die. Obviously, she won’t because (and this is me making assumptions) Gideon is going to come save her or something like that. There is a huge prophecy about her and I wish people would just tell her. It would make things much easier.

I loved Xemerius. He had me laughing out loud and I’m grateful for him to distill some of the seriousness. He proved to be extremely useful and his character was just perfect. I’m surprised Gideon never wondered where Gwyneth knew where he had been and what he had been doing. I swear the kid knows much more than he’s letting on.

Count St. Germain: He only appeared about two times but that was enough for me to seriously hate him. Stupid git. And the way Gideon basically worships him. He’s probably under some sort of spell. I’ve established that Count St. Germain and the Circle members are the bad guys and Lucy and Paul, the good ones. We’ll see.

I’m also really sure Mr. George is hiding something. How could he not remember Gwen coming to see him. Her name was Violet Purpleplum for crying out loud! I bet he’s the traitor. He’s always freakishly nice.

One thought on “Review: Saphire Blue

Leave a Reply

