Review: Lair of Dreams

Title: Lair of Dreams

Author: Libba Bray

Publisher: Little Brown & Co.

Rating: 3.5/5

The longing of dreams draws the dead, and this city holds many dreams.
After a supernatural showdown with a serial killer, Evie O’Neill has outed herself as a Diviner. With her uncanny ability to read people’s secrets, she’s become a media darling, earning the title “America’s Sweetheart Seer.” Everyone’s in love with the city’s newest It Girl…everyone except the other Diviners.
Piano-playing Henry DuBois and Chinatown resident Ling Chan are two Diviners struggling to keep their powers a secret—for they can walk in dreams. And while Evie is living the high life, victims of a mysterious sleeping sickness are turning up across New York City.

As Henry searches for a lost love and Ling strives to succeed in a world that shuns her, a malevolent force infects their dreams. And at the edges of it all lurks a man in a stovepipe hat who has plans that extend farther than anyone can guess…As the sickness spreads, can the Diviners descend into the dreamworld to save the city?

I don’t quite know where to begin with this one. This books wasn’t as good as the first and I found the first hundred pages a bit slow. I did love how the different point of views all connected together to paint a big picture.

I was a bit confused with the beginning and how it jumped a bit further into the future than where we left off in the Diviners.

Nonetheless, this book was still really intriguing and I enjoyed the 1920s setting.

SPOILERS:

I’ll start off with the positives. I loved Evie and Sam’s relationship. I mentioned in my review of the first book how I wanted them to be together and I’m happy that’s starting to happen. I would feel bad for Jericho but I don’t. Oh well.

I also liked Theta and Memphis’s relationship.

I need to quickly mention that the audiobook was again, of course, fantastic. The way the narrator articulated every single character was amazing.

I”m not happy with Will’s strange disappearance. I really liked his character and I don’t really know what the point of him leaving was. Another thing I didn’t like was that Evie seemed to have taken a step back and wasn’t in the story as much. Evie’s character was one of my favorites and I missed having her be the main character.

I can’t wait for the third book.

 

One thought on “Review: Lair of Dreams

Leave a Reply

