Review: Fangirl

412xh9uvpbl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Title: Fangirl

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Rating: 5/5

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

I tried to take my time with this one. I wanted to take my time and enjoy everything in this book; to relish in the beauty of it, but I couldn’t. This book was so amazing, it had my eyes glued to the pages and I could not let go. This was such a good contemporary book.

This book was absolutely fantastic. Read it

SPOILERS

I absolutely loved Cath’s character. I found her really relatable; her awkwardness, social anxiety, and how she preferred staying in fictional worlds to real ones. I also loved her relationship with Levi. Every time he entered a scene, I just got so excited and giddy. He was just such a likeable character. I loved his ever-present smile and how much he cared for Cath.

When I first read about Nick, I thought he was going to be the main love interest. Too bad he turned out to be such a douche canoe.

I also loved Cather’s father. He was broken yet brilliant and reminded me of a lost puppy. I also loved Cath’s love for her family and how loyal she was to them.

I loved the writing style. It was very vivid and descriptive and easy to fall in to.

I also really enjoyed how much Cath and Wren loved Simon Snow and the fanfiction aspect of the book. I love the way the author wrote about writing. It was so beautiful and I felt it was a really accurate description of what it feels like to love writing. Cath’s fangirling about fictional worlds  was so relatable and I loved that.

Another thing I enjoyed was that Wren and Cath became friends again. I didn’t realize how much I wanted them to reconcile until they did.

I’m kind of sad about the ending. I think it was to abrupt and I have no closure. I need more!!

Reagan’s character was also one I really enjoyed. She was sharp, yes, but she did invite Cath to hangout with herself and Levi and didn’t get freaked out when she figured out he and Cath had feelings for each other.

I’m also going to quickly mention that I read Eleanor and Park last summer and did not enjoy it, so I was weary of picking this up. I was so wrong. This book was phenomenal. Amazing read. I highly recommend.

Guess I’m off to read Carry On now…

One thought on “Review: Fangirl

Leave a Reply

