Lyre Spoiler-Free Review

lyre

Title: Lyre

Author: Tina V. Tatum

Rating: 3/5

*Disclaimer: This book was sent to me in exchange for an honest review. This has in no way affected my thoughts. All thoughts and opinions stated in this review are my own. Special thanks to the author and publisher for sending me the review copy*

The daughter of the great warrior Kitonga, protector of the Yimbe village, Lyre was always aware of the beauty of combat which led her to dream of becoming the first female warrior. She received what she asked for and more, but becoming a hero like her father came with a price.
She must battle warriors unlike any the Yimbe village has ever seen and face challenges both physical and mental. Lyre is truly a hero unlike any other.

When I read the synopsis of this book, I was taken with the concept and intrigued. Unfortunately, I did not enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. It just wasn’t my cup of tea, though, I can see how others might enjoy it.

I really did like the concept of a society regressing. It was really unique and I’ve never read a book where it is set in the future where society seems to actually have regressed.

I had a bit of a problem with the protagonist, Lyre. In the beginning, her life’s dream is to be a warrior but throughout her story, she seems to disregard that dream. I understand that there were many crazy things going on in her life, but still. Yes, she technically can fight like a warrior, but that really isn’t what she wanted to be.

Another thing I didn’t like about her is how quickly she fell for Amour. She always talked about how irritating he was and the minute he expresses feelings for her, she falls head over heals. She says she loves him, but there was no build-up in their relationship.

Around the middle of the book, there is a two-year time jump. When I first came across it, I was a bit weary, but it flowed pretty smoothly and moved the story along nicely.

I enjoyed Miata immensely and loved her friendship and loyalty towards Lyre.

The ending kind of threw me off a bit. Throughout the whole book, there was this huge build-up for a big battle that never really came. I did see that there will be a sequel, so perhaps that’s where everything will be concluded.

That being said, I did see improvements in the plot and fluidity throughout the book and the girl friendships in this book were very well represented.

 

2 thoughts on “Lyre Spoiler-Free Review

Leave a Reply

