Rereading Books: A Discussion

UR NEWSLETTER

Now, I’m not quite sure how big a topic this is, but it’s come to my attention that I reread books a lot and that on the other side, some people don’t reread books as much. So I was just thinking we could do a little discussion-y type thing.

To me, I really like rereading books and it’s both comforting and not comforting at the same time. For instance, I love rereading Harry Potter, or The Book Thief, or I am the Messenger because I know that I’ll fall straight back into them and love them every time. Over the past  couple months, I kept rereading books because I knew I loved them, rather than trying out new books that I might not enjoy as much. Rereading will always be my favorite thing to do. While it’s not the same as diving into a favorite book for the first time, it will always, to me at least, feel like coming home.

On the other hand, I do understand the people that prefer not to reread books. I used to never reread a book, even if I enjoyed it. Even now, there are some books that I’m afraid to reread because I seem to think that I won’t like or relate to them as much as I once did. Again, this is both reasonable and unreasonable. For some books, I might have grown a bit, and my attitude and interests may have changed. For others, however, it seems completely unfounded. Me Before You is one of them. For some reason, I’m afraid to reread it because I think that I won’t love it as much as I did, but I know that that isn’t or won’t be true.

Sometimes, however, I find it easier to go back to a book that I know and love than to try and read and get into a new book. So, I guess my feelings are kind of a mix of both.

What about you? Do you prefer to read new books, or do you enjoy rereading old favorites?

Leave a Reply

