Lunar Chronicles Full Series Review

favelunarTitle: Lunar Chronicles

Author: Merissa Meyer

Publisher: Feiwal and Friends

Rating: 5/5

Once upon a time, in the future… The Lunar Chronicles are futuristic retellings of classic fairy tales. In CINDER, a teenage cyborg (half human, half machine) must deal with a wicked stepmother, start a rebellion against the evil Queen Levana, and decide how she feels about a handsome prince. As the series continues, Cinder forges alliances with Scarlet, a spaceship pilot who is determined to solve the mystery of a missing loved one — with the help of a magnetic street fighter named Wolf; Cress, a computer hacker who is imprisoned by Queen Levana; and Winter, a princess who’s in love with a commoner, and who discovers that Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress may hold the key to saving her kingdom — and the world. (source)

This is hands-down absolutely fantastic. There was badassery, awesome female characters, diversity; it was, simply put, amazing.

The character development in these books it riveting. I loved how every character intertwined with each other and added to the story. I also loved how small seemingly random bits of the different fairy tales the books were based after, found their way into the story.

Another seemingly simple thing that I really enjoyed was how unique each character’s perspective was. Sometimes with books with multiple POVs, the voice of the individual character gets lost. With these, though, there is a clear and distinct voicing to each character. For instance, in Iko’s sections, you can immediately tell her android thinking, and with Winter, you can sense how she isn’t always quite there. The same goes for the rest of the characters, and I love that so much.

SPOILERS: 

I think my order of favorites would be: Cinder and Cress tied at the top, followed closely by Winter,  and then my least favorite of the series would be Scarlet. 

Right so since this is supposed to be a full series review, I’m going to start with Cinder and make my way up. Since Winter was my  most recent read, I’ll probably have more to say about Winter than all the other books. Just a little disclaimer.

From what I can remember, I really loved Cinder and her story. I loved her burgeoning relationship with Kai. A small thing that I didn’t like was how obvious it was the Cinder was Princess Selene. There were many obvious hints, but it was still an excellent start to the series.

Scarlet was my least favorite of the series. I didn’t like how little Cinder was mentioned and I did not really care for Scarlet and Wolf. Even now, they’re not my favorite of the group.

Cress I listened to as an audiobook and it took me forever to get through because I ordered it from an online library and I always forgot I had it, and then when I remembered it was too late. Nevertheless, I finally finished it and loved it so much. Cress and Thorne *sigh*; they’re my favorite of the duo. I loved the banter between them–or rather Thorne’s banter and Cress’s blushes, I love the two so much.

Moving along to Winter. Ohmygoddd. So much went down in this book. This was an excellent finale. It had everything in it that I feel is necessary for a conclusion. However, this was a bit hard for me to get into. I’m not quite sure why. I was trudging along, up until page 500 where things started to heat up for me. I found myself captivated again.

This book gave me so much anxiety tbh. The amount of times Thorn or Cinder or anyone of  the group almost died was too much to count. I was literally holding my breath throughout the entire last half. To be quite honest, I’m still surprised none of them died.

Throughout the book, I came to really like Winter even though I was worried that I wouldn’t feel much for her. I love her character and her struggles.

The final fight scene between Cinder, Levana, and Thorn was quite literally terrifying. The way Levana manipulated Thorne killed me. I also died at the scene were Thorne’s being forced by Levana to shoot Cinder and he’s sobbing and saying “I’m sorry”. That really hit me.

Which brings me to the Cresswell reunion at the end. Ahh. It was the cutest thing ever. I hope we get some cute scenes from them in Stars Above but my sister says there aren’t many. Then again, she convinced me that Thorne was going to die so…

Two more things before I stop (this is getting too long already).

I love the scene when Thorne is “driving” Kai back to the Eastern Commonwealth and they kind of bond. Kai askes about Cress and offers some advice  which I thought was really cute.

Another beautiful friendship is the one between Iko and Cinder. I love the platonic “I love you” they exchanged before the battle. It’s something you see so rarely in YA.

Again, a phenomenal series.

 

 

One thought on “Lunar Chronicles Full Series Review

Leave a Reply

