Review: Gone Girl

gone_girl_flynn_novelTitle: Gone Girl

Author: Gillian Flynn

Publisher: Broadway Books

Rating: 4/5

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer? 

Oh wow. This book creeped me the eff out. It wasn’t scary scary, but really freaky. I don’t really know if that even makes any sense but it’s the only way I can think to describe the way this book made me feel. It irked me, made me rethink everything, and ultimately, was a really great thriller.

This book was really sneaky and managed to keep changing my perspectives and ideas as the novel progressed. I’d go from hating Nick, to sympathizing with Nick, and back to despising him. The same goes for Amy. Gillian Flynn really has a talent for twisting and turning the story so you don’t know who to trust. I loved that about this book.

I didn’t know what to expect when I came into this book. I heard it was a mystery/thriller type thing and that it rivaled or was similar to We Were Liars, which I loved, so I thought I’d check it out. Honestly, I think it’s best to go into this book blind, as it allows  for more suspense and thrills.

There isn’t much else I can say without spoiling you, except that this is a phenomenally gripping read. It’s captivating, thrilling, and sneaky. However, if you’re squeamish or get triggered by self-inflicted pain, I’d say to step away. Otherwise, this is a very intriguing read.

SPOILERS: 

The first chapter was so remarkably calm that it threw me off for a bit. It starts off with a completely normal morning. I expected something a bit more fast-paced, I guess. I don’t know why I thought that.

I really hated Nick. At first, I sympathized with him and thought I kind of related to his troubles. Then, he started to get really irritating and misogynistic. The way he blamed all his marriage troubles on Amy annoyed me to no end. It was really all his fault. He didn’t try, he got moody after he lost his job, he wouldn’t talk to Amy. Of course, this is all before Part 2, and before Amy went all crazy.

I had really liked and felt for Amy up to this point. She really did a good job at convincing the reader that she was a sweet innocent little wife who only wanted to help her husband and who, in turn, only manipulated her. Which was not the case as we come to find out.

Amy was such a crazy character. While the things she did were terrible and awful, I have to give her credit. I mean, she thought of everything; there wasn’t an angle she didn’t have covered. Not only that, but she planned and strategized her escape for a year. She fed Nick and her friends,  information that would eventually come and help her when she wanted to frame him for murder.

I loved how distinct each perspective was. I was never left wondering who’s POV I was reading from.

This book had so many layers and new perspectives, it’s astounding. the same goes for the characters. They’re portrayed a certain way at first, and then as the novel progresses, we get more information and can see that they’re not actually how they look on the surface, but something else. Take Hillary Handy. We all think that she was not right in the head and that she had pushed Amy off of a staircase in order to be the “new” Amy. Later on, it’s revealed that Amy fabricated the whole lie. Instead of being mildly psychotic, Amy is relatively normal, has moved on with her life, and has three kids. This whole book is about not trusting what’s right in front of you, and to dig deeper.

The length Amy goes to get her revenge was absolutely confounding. She would hurt herself to make the evidence look real, and the freakiest part was that she did it all because Nick wasn’t loyal to her and didn’t give her the attention she wanted. Yes, it was awful that Nick was being such a jerk and was cheating on her for over a year, but it didn’t really merit the lengths that Amy went to.

Okay, that ending. I don’t get why after everything Amy went to to make her getaway look real, she would go back to Nick. It’s made clear multiple times that she despises him, wishes him dead even. I sort of understand; she saw the sweet things he said to her on TV and wanted them to be true. She believed she could turn him into that man. But then, on the other hand, it would be all fake and they would both know it. She could have just gotten a divorce, but that would have been too easy.

And then comes the kid.

So not only did Amy fake her disappearance to frame Nick but now she returned and decided that while she really hated Nick, she’d still want a child. Of course, she didn’t actually want a child, it was only a manipulation game because she knew Nick wouldn’t want to leave her with his kid and so he’d have to stay. I don’t think the end was really satisfying, but I think it fit the atmosphere of the novel and Amy’s character.

Again, a phenomenal, wicked, ingeniously written read. It makes you second guess every action, and you should most definitely check it out.

4 thoughts on “Review: Gone Girl

  1. Pingback: September Wrap-up

Leave a Reply

