Review: A Gathering of Shadows

51ryevqlj9l

Title: A Gathering of Shadows

Author: V.E. Schwab

Publisher: Tor Books

Rating: 4/5

It has been four months since a mysterious obsidian stone fell into Kell’s possession. Four months since his path crossed with Delilah Bard. Four months since Prince Rhy was wounded, and since the nefarious Dane twins of White London fell, and four months since the stone was cast with Holland’s dying body through the rift–back into Black London.

Now, restless after having given up his smuggling habit, Kell is visited by dreams of ominous magical events, waking only to think of Lila, who disappeared from the docks as she always meant to do. As Red London finalizes preparations for the Element Games–an extravagant international competition of magic meant to entertain and keep healthy the ties between neighboring countries–a certain pirate ship draws closer, carrying old friends back into port.

And while Red London is caught up in the pageantry and thrills of the Games, another London is coming back to life. After all, a shadow that was gone in the night will reappear in the morning. But the balance of magic is ever perilous, and for one city to flourish, another London must fall.

It was so refreshing to be completely wrapped up in a book and everything that’s going on. At first, it took me a while to get into, as it’s been a really long time since I read the first book. However, after a couple of chapters, it all came back to me and I really enjoyed the book.

It was an incredible read and I enjoyed it immensely.

SPOILERS:

I love Lila. I think she is single-handedly my favorite character. I love her continued resilience and strong nature. She continuously fought and conquered.

Something that shocked me (but honestly, I shouldn’t have expected anything less) was that she competed in the Essen Tach.

I should have known that was something Lila would do. I was really impressed at how well she did and how she made it past nearly 3 rounds. I still don’t know how she got her powers and I still can’t believe she can not only harness one element but 3 or maybe even 4.

I was kind of disappointed that we didn’t see more of Lila and Kell until the better half of the book, but it made for a great build up. I loved their meetings and how they both instantly recognized that the other was masquerading as someone else. It was really cute and showed how attuned to each other they were.

Moving back to the beginning, I really loved the way Lila got the ship the “Night Spire” and again how tough she was. I also loved Alucard and his friendship with Lila. There is still an air of mystery around him and I’m excited to see more of him in the third book.

Rhy kind of irritated me in this book because he kept going around causing trouble simply because he resented the fact that he was tied to Kell’s body.

I also hated that Kell went with Ojka, even though I know there was no way for him to know otherwise. Thankfully, Kell refused to allow the demon entry to his body. The cliffhanger at the end left me dying and so ready for the next book (which is out now. Eee!!).

Again, completely enthralling and beautiful. I can’t wait to read the last book in the series.

One thought on “Review: A Gathering of Shadows

Leave a Reply

