Awkward First Review: The Infernal Devices trilogy

Title:  The Infernal Devices

Author:  Cassandra Clare

Publisher:  McElderry Books

Rating:  4.5/5

This series takes place in Victorian London, a long time before the events of The Mortal Instruments.  It follows the story of a young girl, Tessa Gray who travels to England in search of her brother. Once she arrives she discovers she has a unique ability to shapeshift and there are many who would like to capture her and use her abilities for evil. This leads her to the London Institute for Shadowhunters with whom she must stay with in order to be safe.  Here she unexpectedly finds friendship, love, and even a home.

Warning: Spoilers

I just finished Clockwork Princess and wow.  I’ve stopped in my tracks and can’t move on.  What an amazing finale. The epilogue tied everything together so nicely I just…I can’t.

Okay, I’ve collected my thought somewhat.

What I liked about Clockwork Angel is that it drew me right in.  We start off with our first view of Will, killing a Shax demon, and Jem.  Soon after the perspectives change and we see Tessa Gray on her way from New York to London.  She has set foot on English soil for about ten minutes when she is kidnapped by two evil witch sisters.  All this in the prologue.  If that’s not an interesting beginning I don’t know what is.  I love that like the Mortal Instruments, the Infernal Devices is told in the 3rd person and with alternating perspectives.  I think this is what makes these two series so good.  Clockwork Angel was heartbreaking, but so was Clockwork Princess…oh forget it.  They were all heartbreaking to the point of tears.

In bk 1 I could never understand why Will treated Tessa the way he did.  But I knew there had to be something wrong with him; I refused to believe his pigheadedness and anger were just a part of who he was.  And I was right! In Clockwork Prince all was revealed and I was so happy…until Tessa got engaged to Jem and shortly after Will comes and professes his love for her also and she is forced to turn him down.  Why? Why?  

Clockwork Prince was my favorite of the three because all the character got further developed.  I loved Charlotte and Henry so much in this.  Henry is one of my favorite characters.  He’s just so adorably awkward. And Magnus. Oh Magnus. I love Magnus so much in this series.  He’s so funny and I feel like I understand him and relate to him more in this series than I do in The Mortal Instruments.

The only problems I had with this series is 1) the slow beginnings of Clockwork Prince and Clockwork Princess.  Both started quite slow and I would have given up on them had I not know that they would get better.  And they did.  The trick is to KEEP going even though they begin kind of slow because once you hit the middle-BAM.  Things start heating up and it’s impossible to put down.
And 2) Jem.  I feel bad saying this but I could not relate to him and he didn’t feel real enough for me. Maybe it’s because Will was more flawed and needed more help.  Or maybe it’s simply because I hate love triangle (though this is one of the best I’ve read so far).  I don’t know why but I couldn’t stop seeing him as simple a side character who only rarely made an appearance.  I feel bad saying this but I was glad he became I Silent Brother, and ecstatic when Tessa married Will.

All in all a fantastic read and I totally recommend it.    


<!–[if gte vml 1]>

 

<![endif]–>

                     

                                                                   

2 thoughts on “Awkward First Review: The Infernal Devices trilogy

Leave a Reply

