Review: Emerald Green

Title: Emerald Green

Author: Kerstin Geir

Publisher: Henry Holt & Co.

Rating: 4/5

Gwen has a destiny to fulfill, but no one will tell her what it is. She’s only recently learned that she is the Ruby, the final member of the time-traveling Circle of Twelve, and since then nothing has been going right. She suspects the founder of the Circle, Count Saint-German, is up to something nefarious, but nobody will believe her. And she’s just learned that her charming time-traveling partner, Gideon, has probably been using her all along. Emerald Green is the stunning conclusion to Kerstin Gier’s Ruby Red Trilogy, picking up where Sapphire Blue left off, reaching new heights of intrigue and romance as Gwen finally uncovers the secrets of the time-traveling society and learns her fate.


Awesome conclusion to an awesome series. I loved all the cute little parts and found myself laughing out loud.

So much happened in this book and I’m happy that many of my questions from Sapphire Blue were answered. I think everything was tied together quite nicely.

SPOILERS:

I’m going to start off at the beginning and work my way to the end.

First, I want to say what an amazing friend Leslie is. She’s always there for Gwen picks her up off the ground after what Gideon did. I absolutely love their relationship. And of course I was completely angry with Gideon and it turns out he didn’t even pretend to fall in love with Gwen in the first place?! That was a pretty stupid move of him to just go along with what she was accusing him of. I understand he had just gotten the letters from Paul and was confused and flustered but he just made everything a hundred times more difficult. At least there wasn’t the “I pretended to fall in love with you and then actually did” plot line.

The “Gwen dying and then not dying” part was a bit baffling to me at first. When Gwen arrived back in present day with just a scratch after being stabbed, I assumed Dr. White had done something and was helping her out or something just like he did when he let Gwen pretend she was sick in order not to go to the meeting with Count St. Germain. That part was confusing to me as well. I would have liked to see some insight on his character and what made him help Gwen when he so clearly despised her in Ruby Red.

I also didn’t trust Gideon when he he said he loved Gwen when she was lying on the ground, dying. Cruelly, I got a lot of pleasure out of his tortured sobbing over her eminent death. He deserved it.

I’m still reeling over Mr. Whitman being the traitor. I’ve got to say I didn’t see that coming at all. Yes, he was rude, annoying and nosy but I never thought he was actually Count. St. Germain. I had suspected Mr. Marley, Mr. George, and even Mr. Bernard but not Mr. Whitman. I was so sure it was Mr. George.

Another thing I didn’t see coming was Gideon getting shot. I was hyperventilating even though I knew there was no way he was going to die but I never expected him to have taken the immortality salt thing. It never occured to me. I thought maybe Gwen would do something or they’d go back in time to fix it, but never the salt. It works out, though, so I don’t mind.

Xemerius was again, spectacular. He was so funny and I loved his dramatic dialogue.

I would have loved to see more from the epilogue; I think it ended too quickly.

I’m rating this book on my overall enjoyment of this book and while I did find it a good conclusion, I came out of this book a bit unsatisfied. The plot lines did tie in nicely and I liked that, I just would have liked a bit more from it.

One thought on “Review: Emerald Green

Leave a Reply

